CSE at UNT | Computer Science and Engineering


Outstanding CSE Students for 2017

Congratulations to our 2017 Outstanding Students in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering!

Outstanding Doctoral Student in Computer Science and Engineering – Zhi Liu
Outstanding Master’s Student in Computer Engineering - Evan Rodrigues
Outstanding Master’s Student in Computer Science - Sreedevi Koppula
Outstanding Teaching Fellow in Computer Science and Engineering – Joseph Helsing
Outstanding Teaching Assistant in Computer Science and Engineering – Nishitha Guntakandla
Outstanding Senior in Computer Engineering - Chukwuebuka Nwankwo
Outstanding Senior in Computer Science - Dralia Tulley-Patton
Outstanding Senior in Information Technology – Olivia Hughes
Outstanding Junior in Computer Engineering - Charles Goff
Outstanding Junior in Computer Science - Daniel Merlino
Outstanding Junior in Information Technology – Brandon Hastings
Outstanding CSE Department Sophomore – Luis Alba
Outstanding CSE Department Freshman – Chris Jones

These CSE students were recognized at UNT Honors Day on April 21, 2017.

CSE logo

UNT Computer Science: 45 Years of Changing Lives and Technology

In 1977 Apple Computers released the first personal computer with color graphics, the first modem for home users hit stores and Willie Barber graduated from the University of North Texas with a master’s degree in Computer Science. He was part of the very first class to graduate from that program.

More than 20 years after Barber graduated from UNT, Greg Thurman got his bachelor’s degree in computer science. By 1998, computers were common in homes but a new technology was emerging.

By 2016, UNT was seeing a generation of students who didn’t know a world before computers, tablets had taken over and social media had become part of everyday life. That was the year Tyseanah Spell graduated with her computer science degree.

Together, these alumni tell the enduring story of UNT’s computer science program.

UNT computer science alumni
UNT Computer Science Alumni (left to right) Willie Barber, Greg Thurman and Tyseanah Spell.

From Digital Data to Knowledge: Researcher Receives NSF CAREER Award

Cornelia Caragea

Cornelia Caragea, an assistant professor at UNT's College of Engineering, has received the National Science Foundation CAREER Award – the most prestigious recognition offered by the NSF for young researchers – for her work in machine learning, data mining and information retrieval.

Her NSF CAREER project is aimed at designing solutions that will make information more accessible and comprehensible to scholarly web users, helping them discover knowledge more effectively and efficiently. She plans to develop an integrated framework that focuses on the extraction and utilization of scholarly knowledge graphs in online scholarly environments.

To date, Caragea has received more than $1.6 million in National Science Foundation funding for her research initiatives. 

Read the whole story.

Information Technology Alumnus Featured at National Convergence Technology Center

Kyle Taylor graduated from our B.A. in Information Technology (BAIT) program in 2012. Kyle is a successful Web Developer with a Dallas area tech company, but is also an entrepreneur in his own right. He gives back to the Tech Community through his involvement with TechMill and other groups that support and encourage entrepreneurship and technical innovation. The National Convergence Technology Center featured Kyle’s story about his experience in our BAIT program.

The BAIT program was accredited by ABET in 2012. More information about out BAIT program is on our website here.

Kyle Taylor

ACM Student Chapter to meet on February 22 - POSTPONED

The first meeting of the UNT ACM Student Chapter will be held on Wednesday, February 22, 2017, from 12 noon to 1 pm in NTDP F223. The Student Chapter of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) is organized and will be operated exclusively for educational and scientific purposes to promote the following:

  1. An increased knowledge of and greater interest in the science, design, development, construction, languages, management and applications of modern computing.
  2. Greater interest in computing and its applications.
  3. A means of communication between persons having an interesting in computing.

The ACM President is Quentin Mayo and the faculty advisor is Renee Bryce.

Distinguished Speaker Seminar on February 10

RISE Lab hosts Texas Software Engineering Research Doctoral Symposium on February 10. Distingushed Speaker will be Dr. Myra Cohen.

The Research Innovations in Software Engineering (RISE) Lab will host the 2nd annual TEASER (TExAs Software Engineering Research) Doctoral Symposium on February 10, 2017. The keynote speaker will be Dr. Myra Cohen, the Susan J. Rosowski Professor in Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Her presentation will be Configurations Everywhere – the Good, Bad and the Ugly for Software Testing. Her presentation will be at 11:30 am in NTDP F285. Dr. Cohen is a member of the Laboratory for Empirically-based Software Quality Research, ESQUaReD, and her expertise lies in testing of highly-configurable software, product lines and testing graphical user interfaces, and in search-based software engineering.