About the department

The Department of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of North Texas was founded as the Department of Computer Sciences in 1971.

The department provides very high quality educational programs by maintaining a balance between theoretical and experimental aspects of computer science, as well as a balance between software and hardware issues, and by providing curricula that serve the citizens and industrial organizations of Texas in general, and those in North Texas in particular. The department facilitates a collegial atmosphere that is conducive to intellectual and scholarly pursuits of the faculty and students. The department strongly encourages interdisciplinary research.

The department offers a Bachelor of Arts in Information Technology, Bachelor of Science and Master of Science in Computer Science, Bachelor of Science and Master of Science in Computer Engineering, Bachelor of Science and Master of Science in Cybersecurity, Master of Science in AI, Master of Science in Data Engineering and a Ph.D. in Computer Science and Engineering.

At present, the department includes 50 + faculty. Current research interests of the faculty include theoretical computer science, databases, visualization, game programming, wired and wireless networks, computer security, artificial intelligence, natural language processing, computer systems architecture, agent based systems, collaborative learning, parallel and distributed processing, and numerical analysis. The departmental research is supported by federal and state agencies as well as industrial concerns.