Department announces awards recipients for 2023-2024 academic year

Students pose during award ceremony
Student and scholarship award recipients pose for a group photo during the 2024 CSE Award Ceremony

The stars were out on the afternoon of May 1 as the CSE Department awarded 22 students and 9 faculty/staff with various honors for their dedication and hard work during the 2023-2024 academic year. Friends, family and colleagues gathered together to join the celebration as we presented honorary certificates to our amazing recipients that bring out the best of the department. Find the recipient list below:

Left to right: Mason Besmer, Shashank Anshumaan Malkaram, Saikiran Bandarupalli, Manuel Flores, Wheeler Hayes, Ahmed Aljohani, Yeswanth Dintakurthy, Brendan Norman, Chimara Okeke, Nova Lader, Naomi Unuane, Dhroov Pandey, Colton Clemmer, Pradhyumna Poralla

Scholarship Recipients

Naomi Unuane 2024 Benjamin Hamilton Scholarship recipient 
Wheeler Hayes 2024 Don Retzlaff Scholarship recipient (presented by Sean Wheeler)
Manuel Flores 2024 Jacob Cole Memorial Scholarship recipient
Navaneeth Dodda 2024 Entering Freshman Scholarship
Leaf Sampeck 2024 Gene Fuhrman Scholarship
Elise Enriquez 2024 Kavi and Friends Scholarship








Outstanding Undergraduates

Mason Besmer Outstanding Computer Science Undergraduate
Colton Clemmer Outstanding Computer Science Undergraduate
Dhroov Pandey Outstanding Computer Science Undergraduate
Nova Lader Outstanding Computer Science Undergraduate
Elise Enriquez Outstanding Computer Engineering Undergraduate
Mckenna Beard Outstanding Information Technology Undergraduate
Chimara Okeke Outstanding Information Technology Undergraduate
Brendan Norman Outstanding Information Technology Undergraduate










Outstanding Graduate

Pradhyumna Poralla Outstanding Masters Student in Artificial Intelligence
Sina Montazeri Outstanding Masters Student in Artificial Intelligence
Yeswanth Dintakurthy Outstanding Masters Student in Computer Science
Pavan Krishna Yarlagadda Outstanding Masters Student in Computer Science
Saikiran Bandarupalli Outstanding Masters Student in Computer Science
Shashank Anshuman Malkaram Outstanding Masters Student in Cybersecurity








Outstanding PhD Students

Donger Chen Outstanding PhD Students
Ahmed Aljohani Outstanding PhD Students





Alumni Awards

Jessica Everett Outstanding Lifetime Achievement Award
Miranda Bigby Outstanding Recent Alumni





Left to right: Dr. Mark Albert, Dr. Stephanie Ludi, Dr. Jacob Hochstetler, Dr. Cihan Tunc, Dr. Heng Fan, Dr. Wajdi Aljedaani, Evin Shivers, and Jessica Everett

Faculty and Staff Awards

Dr. Qing Yang 2024 CSE Soaring Eagle Award
Dr. Stephanie Ludi 2024 CSE Research Award & 2024 CSE Faculty-Student Success Award
Dr. Mark Albert 2024 CSE TTT Faculty Teaching Award
Dr. Wajdi Aljedaani 2024 CSE Professional Faculty Teaching Award
Dr. Heng Fan 2024 CSE Junior Faculty Research Award
Dr. Jacob Hochstetler 2024 CSE Faculty Service Award
Dr. Cihan Tunc 2024 CSE Faculty Citizenship Award
Evin Shivers 2024 CSE Outstanding Staff Member Award










The CSE Department sends a huge congratulations to the award court of 2024! Your unwavering dedication, innovative thinking, and tireless efforts have not only earned admiration from fellow faculty and colleagues, but also inspired others to reach greater heights. We look forward to seeing the continued success of every one of our recipients and all that the future holds.